Coming Home

In one of my previous posts I talked a bit about my time in Uzbekistan and how I was going to post more frequently. With so much going on though I became a little lazy with keeping this blog up to date since. I have been home for over two months now and nostalgia is kicking in more and more. Thus, I finally started organizing my photos and decided to dedicate one more blog post to this motorbike trip .

After my three day transit visa for Azerbaijan expired I moved on to Georgia. Everyone I met who has been there before would tell me with a ridiculous amount of joy how great of a country it was and how they all want to revisit. You can’t believe how hyped I was to finally get there. With less than 12 hours left on my Visa and no tools, as I lost them in Azerbaijan I drove all the way from Baku to Georgia with worries on my mind but made it without problems. Georgia did not disappoint me even though it is always dangerous to travel with such high expectations. I took ten days and many detours to drive around the country. With such diverse landscapes from steppe to snowcapped mountains and the capital Tbilisi it for sure is very high up on my list of places I definitely want to go back to.

Many people said it wasn’t so smart to go to Turkey considering all that happened there, however, I crossed the border from Georgia and it was the best decision to go anyway. One doesn’t often get the chance to see places like Cappadocia for example without thousands of tourist groups. My personal highlight though for sure was Istanbul, one of the most vibrant and interesting cities in Europe in my opinion where I did one last oil change got a “new” second hand chain, new mirrors and other minor fixes and was prepared for the last part of this trip.

So, I crossed the bridge into Europe in Istanbul, crossed into Bulgaria where I spent one last day at the beach, made my way towards one of the most spectacular drives in Europe the Transfăgărășan in Romania, continued through Hungary where I celebrated my last days of my trip in Budapest and finally made my way back home through Slovenia. The driving in Europe on big motorways was much less spectacular than in Central Asia so I decided to do 400-600 km a day and boost home.20160818_16390120160821_142328_richtonehdr20160821_201723_richtonehdr

I turned off the GPS, drove through all the familiar roads to my house, entered my street, parked the bike outside, walked into my house and it seemed like the most normal thing in the world. I played around with my dog, said Hi to my family and after only a few minutes I felt like I was never gone and already started to feel I need to get back on the road.

I enjoyed a few days of having my own bed and fridge and seeing everyone again before me and two friends went on a little freedom-camping roadtrip (in a car this time) for a week through Slovenia and Croatia which I made a little video about https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOkaae87Gbc

I am currently working a job and life stands still in order to save up a little money to continue doing what I enjoy. Whenever I leave my house and see the motorbike standing there I get itchy feet, a few memories pop into my head and I smile.

Leave a Reply

